Skip to content

A hearty “Thank You” to my followers

June 9, 2014

No photo in this post, just me saying “Thank You”!

WordPress notified me the other day that I had reached my 1 year anniversary, which was just after I had made my 100th post. This was my first blog, and I wasn’t completely sure what I was getting into when I started. I did it primarily as a way to push me to get out and take more pictures, and it has done that. What I hadn’t anticipated was that I would actually have a few people following my blog and commenting. To those of you who regularly follow my blog and like my posts or comment – I really do appreciate it.  Thank you!!!  I never expected it and knowing that I have a few people reading and viewing really does help me to take more photos and post more frequently.

I’ve learned a lot in a year, in no particular order:

  • I’ve learned how to use WordPress both to publish my blog and to follow other
  • You really have to be diligent to post regularly.  It isn’t easy!
  • It is even harder to publish really compelling content.  I’ve not come close to this, and it makes me appreciate those in the blogosphere that do it regularly.
  • I’ve got a long way to go in learning photography, and I’m humbled by so many of you that take such great photos.
  • I won’t randomly like people’s posts or follow their blog just to increase my stats.  It isn’t what I’m about or what this blog is about.
  • The 52 in 365 challenge is fun, but can be hard!
  • Zemanta could use some improvements.  My use of “hearty” in this title made it suggest a bunch of recipe-related blog posts.

Keep watching this space as I feel that having made it through 1 year, I’m on a roll!

From → Miscellaneous

6 Comments
  1. First off, Thanks for not JUST liking but actually commenting when you are moved THAT is important to me too! Great first year in my opinion and I for one will keep on looking (and commenting when so moved)

    Like

    • Thanks Ron! I do try to strike a balance between “liking” and “commenting”. Sometimes I don’t feel like I have a good comment, and so I will just “like” a post. You can be sure I never “like” a post unless I really do like it.

      Like

  2. Congratulations on completing your first year blogging. John and I agree that blogging is a wonderful way to get us out taking photos that we normally would not have thought to take. Meeting fellow photo bloggers is an added delight, and a great way to learn about photography.

    Like

    • Thanks Lois! I really do enjoy following the photos and everyday adventures of folks! I really appreciate the time you take to make comments!

      Like

  3. Julie permalink

    I’ve really been enjoying your blog, Andy, and particularly your posts that have a bit of an historical twist. Kudos to you for taking this on and in a thoughtful way.

    My thought on following for the sake of being followed (or commenting simply for the sake of return comments) is that it sucks the lifeblood out of blogging.

    Like

    • Thanks Julie! I’m trying and have a long way to go. I agree with your sentiment regarding following for the sake of being followed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Ivor Rackham Photography

Northumberland's premier photographic coach

Ivor Photography

Clicking the light fantastic

Time & Times Again

A Photography Blog

Just Me

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

PhotobyMarianne

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Two Apples Photography

365 Photo Challenge

A Photo Journey

Photo a Day Challenge

Michael's Photography

Elements Village 52 Week Photo Challenge

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

tooleylynn(Macs864)

its all about the photos!!

ONE MOMENT. TODAY.

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Picture This

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

A Slice of Life 2017

Another year in photos

Rapata48

52 themes for 2015 Photo Challenge

TravelBloggers.on.WordPress

Connect and Support

Joe Sandrin's Photos

My Occasional Photo Blog

AppleLedge Photography

A Journey Through My Life

PIXELICIOUS

Photography by Madelaine Cappuccio

In Transition

A photo blog by Doris Pacheco

My Journey

Photographs from my travels - near and far

T's 'Toggin and Bloggin

My photos, my words

Gem Can't Stop Clicking

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

2014 in Photos

A year in photos

Gerridae's Corner

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

The Girl Behind

Treasured Memories. Special Places.

salzundsafran

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

needlepointernc's Blog

A place to display my photos and ramble on a bit.

A walk with my camera

all about human interests

Alibony 52 in 2014

Photos and Lessons

Sheila & Ed's 52 for 2014

We are looking forward to the Challenge!

Simple Little Pleasures

Life around me as I see it...a photo journal by KarenAnn

Photoblog Unplugged

—52 moments in time

Do You See What I See...

Nature and wildlife photography by PC PHOTO

Walking Around

some photos by Ellen Heinemann

Making Photos

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

What I write when I have a little something to say

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Slice of Life 2014

A Year in Songs and Pictures

jackscrap

2016, my year of imperfection.

Existing Light

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

