Skip to content

52 in 2014 Challenge – #7: Superstition

February 5, 2014

I struggled with this week’s theme.  This one (admittedly a bit of a stretch) came to me today while I was clearing the 8-10″ of snow we received today.

Almost 10 years ago, after some bad winters, I finally broke down and bought a snowblower.  Maybe not superstitious, but at the time I thought that having a good, working snowblower was a sure-fire way of guaranteeing I wouldn’t get enough snow to justify the purchase. Well, since then, we have had the top three largest single snowfalls in the Hartford area. So much for that idea!  However, my snowblower has been a champ and gotten me through these storms and I’m very glad I bought it!

Top Snowstorm Records (in Hartford)
January 12, 2011 – 24.0″
February 8-9, 2013 – 22.3″
February 12, 2006 – 21.9″

(courtesy of http://ryanhanrahan.com/hartford-area-records/)

This was a quick shot I took after I finished..  It was getting dark and starting to snow again, so I settled for a quick few shots.  I played around with it in onOne, using dynamic contrast and lens blur effects.

DSC_5233

Nikon D90, processed in LR and onOne

From → Photography

16 Comments
  1. Only a blowhard spruicking his own glory! Lol

    Like

  2. This has been a long, cold and snowy winter. Your snow blower is really earning its keep.

    Like

    • It really is working hard. The auger belt needs to be replaced, but I’m doing my best to nurse it along until I can change it in the spring!

      Like

  3. Karen Brockney permalink

    I’m nearby in Massachusetts, just digging out from yesterday’s storm. I love the lens blur effect on the snowblower! Makes it look like a superhero – which it is in our weather.

    Like

  4. Here in PA, we haven’t had as much snow, but I wouldn’t be without my snowblower.

    Like

    • I’ve heard from colleagues in NJ there has been quite a bit of snow and ice in the NJ/PA area, but it must not be near you.

      Like

  5. Tammy permalink

    Fun results with your processing! Here in Omaha, we had our first measurable snow…usually we are buried most of the winter. I have a feeling our snow is going to you guys…you can keep it! 🙂

    Like

  6. Nice job! As Karen said we are still digging out here in MA and I hope there is no more in our immediate future!

    Like

  7. Jacki permalink

    Men and their big boy toys, honestly! LOL next thing you know, you’ll be entered in a competition to see who can move the most snow…

    Like

  8. Great sense of motion! It exactly a year ago that wewere watching our Mazda getting buried. Seems we are neighbors–I live in Kensington/Berlin. Where are you?

    Like

  9. Yes, nice effect with this photo…. I’ve had enough snow here in NJ as well!

    Like

  10. I like the stretch!!!!

    Like

  11. Great way to make a normal object look really interesting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Ivor Rackham Photography Journal

Clicking The Light Fantastic

Ivor Photography

Clicking the light fantastic

Time & Times Again

A Photography Blog

Just Me

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

PhotobyMarianne

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Two Apples Photography

365 Photo Challenge

A Photo Journey

Photo a Day Challenge

Michael's Photography

Elements Village 52 Week Photo Challenge

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

tooleylynn(Macs864)

its all about the photos!!

ONE MOMENT. TODAY.

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Picture This

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

A Slice of Life 2017

Another year in photos

Rapata48

52 themes for 2015 Photo Challenge

TravelBloggers.on.WordPress

Connect and Support

Joe Sandrin's Photos

My Occasional Photo Blog

AppleLedge Photography

A Journey Through My Life

PIXELICIOUS

Photography by Madelaine Cappuccio

In Transition

A photo blog by Doris Pacheco

My Journey

Photographs from my travels - near and far

T's 'Toggin and Bloggin

My photos, my words

Gem Can't Stop Clicking

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

2014 in Photos

A year in photos

Gerridae's Corner

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

The Girl Behind

Treasured Memories. Special Places.

salzundsafran

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

needlepointernc's Blog

A place to display my photos and ramble on a bit.

A walk with my camera

all about human interests

Alibony 52 in 2014

Photos and Lessons

Sheila & Ed's 52 for 2014

We are looking forward to the Challenge!

Simple Little Pleasures

Life around me as I see it...a photo journal by KarenAnn

Photoblog Unplugged

—52 moments in time

Do You See What I See...

Nature and wildlife photography by PC PHOTO

Walking Around

some photos by Ellen Heinemann

Making Photos

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

PHOTOBLOG 2812

A Photo Challenge

What I write when I have a little something to say

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Slice of Life 2014

A Year in Songs and Pictures

jackscrap

2016, my year of imperfection.

Existing Light

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

