Skip to content

Great New England Wings and Wheels/Curtiss-Wright P-40 Warhawk

August 30, 2013

This past weekend I went to the Great New England Wings and Wheels show at Westover Air Reserve Base in Chicopee, MA. This was the first year they have done this show, as a filler in between the larger Westover Air Show.  It was a great day for taking pictures, between the planes and the cars, and I’m only now finding some time to go through them.

This first shot is a Curtiss-Wright P-40 Warhawk that was flown in from the American Air Power Museum in Farmingdale, NY (a future trip for me, I hope!). According to their site, this plane was first operational in 1935, and was active from 1937 through the end of World War II. The P-40 is best known for its service in China with Claire Chennault and the American Volunteer Group (AVG). The color scheme on the plane is that of the famous 1st AVG, better known as the “Flying Tigers”.

DSC_1210

Edited in LR

From → Photography

Leave a Reply

Ivor Rackham Photography

Northumberland's premier photographic coach

Ivor Photography

Clicking the light fantastic

Time & Times Again

A Photography Blog

Just Me

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

PhotobyMarianne

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Two Apples Photography

365 Photo Challenge

A Photo Journey

Photo a Day Challenge

Michael's Photography

Elements Village 52 Week Photo Challenge

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

tooleylynn(Macs864)

its all about the photos!!

ONE MOMENT. TODAY.

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Picture This

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

A Slice of Life 2017

Another year in photos

Rapata48

52 themes for 2015 Photo Challenge

TravelBloggers.on.WordPress

Connect and Support

Joe Sandrin's Photos

My Occasional Photo Blog

AppleLedge Photography

A Journey Through My Life

PIXELICIOUS

Photography by Madelaine Cappuccio

In Transition

A photo blog by Doris Pacheco

My Journey

Photographs from my travels - near and far

T's 'Toggin and Bloggin

My photos, my words

Gem Can't Stop Clicking

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

2014 in Photos

A year in photos

Gerridae's Corner

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

The Girl Behind

Treasured Memories. Special Places.

salzundsafran

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

needlepointernc's Blog

A place to display my photos and ramble on a bit.

A walk with my camera

all about human interests

Alibony 52 in 2014

Photos and Lessons

Sheila & Ed's 52 for 2014

We are looking forward to the Challenge!

Simple Little Pleasures

Life around me as I see it...a photo journal by KarenAnn

Photoblog Unplugged

—52 moments in time

Do You See What I See...

Nature and wildlife photography by PC PHOTO

Walking Around

some photos by Ellen Heinemann

Making Photos

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

What I write when I have a little something to say

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Slice of Life 2014

A Year in Songs and Pictures

jackscrap

2016, my year of imperfection.

Existing Light

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

