Skip to content

My first post from my California trip

August 11, 2013

We took our family vacation to the Los Angeles area at the end of July/early August.  Between that and working on a photo book from the trip, I’ve just gotten back to the blog today. I can say wholeheartedly how much I appreciate Lightroom after coming back from this trip!

The shot below is from the Getty Center, part of the Getty Museum.  This was the first time we went and we didn’t have nearly enough time there.  It is so large and spread out, it is overwhelming to a first time visitor.  The museum originally was housed in J. Paul Getty’s home –  he then expanded his house to add a museum wing. The collection eventually outgrew the site, and the new location was found.  According to Wikipedia, the site is on “.. a campus of 24 acres (9.7 ha) on a 110-acre (45 ha) site in the Santa Monica Mountains above Interstate 405, surrounded by 600 acres (240 ha) kept in a natural state”.  It was opened in December of 1997. The location is amazing – you have to take a small train to the top of the hill, which overlooks the LA basin from LA out to Santa Monica and beyond.

This shot was taken using the panorama mode on my iPhone 5, with minor adjustments in LR.
IMG_0305

From → Photography

4 Comments
  1. Beautiful overview!

    Like

  2. Just got back ourselves from Cali….. Newport to be specific!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Ivor Rackham Photography

Northumberland's premier photographer and trainer

Ivor Photography

Clicking the light fantastic

Time & Times Again

A Photography Blog

Just Me

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

PhotobyMarianne

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Two Apples Photography

365 Photo Challenge

A Photo Journey

Photo a Day Challenge

Michael's Photography

Elements Village 52 Week Photo Challenge

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

tooleylynn(Macs864)

its all about the photos!!

ONE MOMENT. TODAY.

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Picture This

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

A Slice of Life 2017

Another year in photos

Rapata48

52 themes for 2015 Photo Challenge

TravelBloggers.on.WordPress

Connect and Support

Joe Sandrin's Photos

My Occasional Photo Blog

AppleLedge Photography

A Journey Through My Life

PIXELICIOUS

Photography by Madelaine Cappuccio

In Transition

A photo blog by Doris Pacheco

My Journey

Photographs from my travels - near and far

T's 'Toggin and Bloggin

My photos, my words

Gem Can't Stop Clicking

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

2014 in Photos

A year in photos

Gerridae's Corner

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

The Girl Behind

Treasured Memories. Special Places.

salzundsafran

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

needlepointernc's Blog

A place to display my photos and ramble on a bit.

A walk with my camera

all about human interests

Alibony 52 in 2014

Photos and Lessons

Sheila & Ed's 52 for 2014

We are looking forward to the Challenge!

Simple Little Pleasures

Life around me as I see it...a photo journal by KarenAnn

Photoblog Unplugged

—52 moments in time

Do You See What I See...

Nature and wildlife photography by PC PHOTO

Walking Around

some photos by Ellen Heinemann

Making Photos

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

What I write when I have a little something to say

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Slice of Life 2014

A Year in Songs and Pictures

jackscrap

2016, my year of imperfection.

Existing Light

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

