Skip to content

You never know what you might stumble across (makes me appreciate having my iPhone)

June 21, 2013

I was out with the family last night, and we stopped at a local business for my wife. While she was inside, one of my daughters caught sight of what looked like an old factory through the trees. So the two of us went exploring and came across what turned out to be the ruins of the old Oakland Mills in Manchester.  The mill looks to have had a major fire, as primarily it is the exterior brick walls which I could see.  While I never knew this was here, it is apparently well known to anyone walking the Union Pond section of the Hockanum River Linear Trail (a series of trails through East Hartford, Manchester and Vernon).  I need to go back with more time and my camera!

iPhone, with LR edits

iPhone, with LR edits

iPhone, with edits in LR, PSE, Topaz DeNoise and Adjust

iPhone, with edits in LR, PSE, Topaz DeNoise and Adjust

According to the article from the Manchester Historical Society, by Susan Barlow

“In the northern section of what would become Manchester in 1823, there was Oakland, a village that housed workers at the Oakland mills. Remains of the brick mills still sit right next to the Hockanum River along Oakland Street (Route 83) at the junction of Tolland Turnpike. From the road, the mills look mysterious and romantic, although they have probably deteriorated beyond repair.
These paper mills were established in 1784 by Butler and Hudson, and operated under various owners and through various reorganizations, manufacturing high-quality papers, including bank-note paper and all the post-card paper for the U.S. government.
In 1899, the American Writing Paper Company, an early conglomerate, bought the Oakland Mill, and replaced former wooden buildings with brick.
Like many businesses, the paper mills suffered financially during the Depression, and went out of business in 1933. Dexter Company bought the mills and processed pulp there for a while. Other businesses have used the buildings since then, including Raybestos, Conyers (cement casting), and a recycling center. “

From → Photography

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Ivor Rackham Photography Journal

Clicking The Light Fantastic

Ivor Photography

Clicking the light fantastic

Time & Times Again

A Photography Blog

Just Me

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

PhotobyMarianne

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Two Apples Photography

365 Photo Challenge

A Photo Journey

Photo a Day Challenge

Michael's Photography

Elements Village 52 Week Photo Challenge

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

tooleylynn(Macs864)

its all about the photos!!

ONE MOMENT. TODAY.

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Picture This

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

A Slice of Life 2017

Another year in photos

Rapata48

52 themes for 2015 Photo Challenge

TravelBloggers.on.WordPress

Connect and Support

Joe Sandrin's Photos

My Occasional Photo Blog

AppleLedge Photography

A Journey Through My Life

PIXELICIOUS

Photography by Madelaine Cappuccio

In Transition

A photo blog by Doris Pacheco

My Journey

Photographs from my travels - near and far

T's 'Toggin and Bloggin

My photos, my words

Gem Can't Stop Clicking

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

2014 in Photos

A year in photos

Gerridae's Corner

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

The Girl Behind

Treasured Memories. Special Places.

salzundsafran

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

needlepointernc's Blog

A place to display my photos and ramble on a bit.

A walk with my camera

all about human interests

Alibony 52 in 2014

Photos and Lessons

Sheila & Ed's 52 for 2014

We are looking forward to the Challenge!

Simple Little Pleasures

Life around me as I see it...a photo journal by KarenAnn

Photoblog Unplugged

—52 moments in time

Do You See What I See...

Nature and wildlife photography by PC PHOTO

Walking Around

some photos by Ellen Heinemann

Making Photos

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

PHOTOBLOG 2812

A Photo Challenge

What I write when I have a little something to say

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Slice of Life 2014

A Year in Songs and Pictures

jackscrap

2016, my year of imperfection.

Existing Light

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

