Skip to content

Heading North, Still Playing with Clarity

June 19, 2013

In my last post, I was playing with Topaz Clarity and revisiting some photos a took awhile ago in San Juan.  Tonight, my inspiration was pictures I took in the Village of St. Martins in New Brunswick, Canada in 2012. St. Martin is a picturesque little village along the Bay of Fundy. The Bay of Fundy is known for its dramatic tidal shifts, and they are extremely noticeable in St. Martins. The small fleet of fishing boats must leave and depart at high tide, because at low tide they sit on the bottom of the harbor.  Walking along the harbor floor looking up at the fishing boats is an amazing sight!

Saint Martins Harbor Nikon D90, Lightroom edits

Saint Martins Harbor
Nikon D90, Lightroom edits

Since I was there as part of a cruise and was on an excursion, the driver timed the visit for low tide, not the golden hours for photography. That meant being there around midday with a bright, hazy sky.  (The village also didn’t pay any attention to where they ran their electrical and telephone lines.) I liked the framing of the bridge, with the path leading to it and the lighthouse in the background, and I was fortunate to get a shot with no cars or people.  However, the wires were really distracting and I thought the photo lacked some contrast.

Irish River #1, over Vaughan Creek Nikon D90

Irish River #1, over Vaughan Creek
Nikon D90, Lightroom edits

This is the result after using the Context-Aware Healing Brush and the Clone Stamp, then applying Topaz Clarity, Topaz Detail, and some selective dodging and burning.  I’m much happier with the end result and I’m starting to appreciate Clarity even more.

Irish River #1, over Vaughan Creek Nikon D90, PSE10, Topaz Clarity and Detail

Irish River #1, over Vaughan Creek
Nikon D90, PSE10, Topaz Clarity and Detail

Useless little trivia  – If you look to the right of the bridge, you will see an identical (or nearly identical) bridge. This is apparently one of the few places you can get two covered bridges in the same photo, and maybe the only place you can get two covered bridges and a lighthouse.

From → Photography

2 Comments
  1. We are also fans of Topaz. I am loving what the new Clarity does to our photos.

    Like

  2. Julie permalink

    Hi Andy — Lovely photos of a part of Canada I haven’t yet visited. I really like the LR edits on both pictures but admit that Topaz seems to have waved a bit of a magic wand over that bridge photo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Ivor Rackham Photography Journal

Clicking The Light Fantastic

Ivor Photography

Clicking the light fantastic

Time & Times Again

A Photography Blog

Just Me

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

PhotobyMarianne

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Two Apples Photography

365 Photo Challenge

A Photo Journey

Photo a Day Challenge

Michael's Photography

Elements Village 52 Week Photo Challenge

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

tooleylynn(Macs864)

its all about the photos!!

ONE MOMENT. TODAY.

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Picture This

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

A Slice of Life 2017

Another year in photos

Rapata48

52 themes for 2015 Photo Challenge

TravelBloggers.on.WordPress

Connect and Support

Joe Sandrin's Photos

My Occasional Photo Blog

AppleLedge Photography

A Journey Through My Life

PIXELICIOUS

Photography by Madelaine Cappuccio

In Transition

A photo blog by Doris Pacheco

My Journey

Photographs from my travels - near and far

T's 'Toggin and Bloggin

My photos, my words

Gem Can't Stop Clicking

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

2014 in Photos

A year in photos

Gerridae's Corner

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

The Girl Behind

Treasured Memories. Special Places.

salzundsafran

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

needlepointernc's Blog

A place to display my photos and ramble on a bit.

A walk with my camera

all about human interests

Alibony 52 in 2014

Photos and Lessons

Sheila & Ed's 52 for 2014

We are looking forward to the Challenge!

Simple Little Pleasures

Life around me as I see it...a photo journal by KarenAnn

Photoblog Unplugged

—52 moments in time

Do You See What I See...

Nature and wildlife photography by PC PHOTO

Walking Around

some photos by Ellen Heinemann

Making Photos

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

PHOTOBLOG 2812

A Photo Challenge

What I write when I have a little something to say

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

Slice of Life 2014

A Year in Songs and Pictures

jackscrap

2016, my year of imperfection.

Existing Light

Sharing my photos, travels, and a little of the history behind them

